Liquor In The Front, Poker In The Rear

February 29, 2012 at 12:35 pm (Sweet sticky things)

I’ve been spending a lot of time with Meg. While we keep plenty busy laying around watching TV, etc… there are quiet, restless times. “Teach me to play cards?”

“Sure,” I say. “What do you want to learn?”

“Whatever you know.”

She pulled out an old deck of cards, a gift from the Marshal. They had seen better days, but all 52 were there. After a couple hands of draw poker, we switched to Texas Hold ‘Em. Rum and coffee emboldened Meg. She brought out a can of pennies and counted me out fifty. “I’m gonna take your money,” she said. “And I hate to lose…”

Twenty minutes later she counted herself one hundred more pennies from the can. “Now you owe me a buck,” she said.

“I’m winning! How does that work?”

“I told you I hate to lose.”

While she lit a cigarette, I casually slipped the scissors off the table. She saw, and laughed. “I don’t hate to lose that much!”

I repaid her the dollar, in pennies, and vowed to bring better cards next time. I found an old sealed pack of Bee Vegas Edition, a Camel promo from years ago. I tossed them onto her bed. “They’re not old and crusty, like your *other* boyfriend’s…”

She shuffled, and dealt a quick draw hand. What a lovely first hand!

Women and poker. They bring out the devil in me…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

