Love Shack Burns Down

November 6, 2012 at 12:10 pm (Sweet sticky things)

All good things must come to an end. Seems I’ve been saying that a lot lately.

Rain lost her lease, and has to move. As she packed the last of her things yesterday, she texted, “Want to come by for one last lunch?”

“Of course!” I sounded more chipper than I was. I had been dreading this moment.

I’ve spent a lot of happy time in that apartment, along with some aggravating and downright scary time. It’s been one of my homes away from home, and it will be missed.

Rain moved in two years ago, after a few months of couch-surfing and homelessness. I was relieved that she was off the streets, and impressed she could be homeless with such style. I knew she was a survivor, and had a rough history. But she had a sweet side, and an ass that went on for miles. Yes, when I met Rain she weighed 283 pounds, twice her current size. Most of it in the trunk. One night, feeling bold, I cozied up next to her as she made coffee. One thing led to another, and I was rubbing up against all that bootyliciousness. We made vague plans to hook up sometime, and I remained optimistic.

When she got the apartment, she came to see me at work, along with one of her older streetwise friends. Rain could barely contain her excitement as she told me of the new place. “Got pencil and paper?” she asked.

“Yes, ma’am!”

She recited the address as she wrote it. Her friend asked in a scolding tone, “What the fuck you giving him your real address for?”

Rain looked up at me as she answered, “Because it’s about time I give this man some pussy!”

Well then.

70^ of relationship squabbles can be avoided if you put down a towel first.

For the next three weeks I tried to catch Rain at home. When we finally hooked up, got past the early awkwardness and got to know each other intimately, things changed. Casual got serious, friendship became something more. Somewhere along the way monogamy crept in. We’ve been exclusive for a while now.

As the years went by, we have become something of a couple. We go our own ways at night; only now I don’t know which way she will be going. “Call me when you get home” isn’t on the menu right now. I will have to have faith that she’s a grown woman who can take care of herself.

Mizelle and I used to play a game where we’d ride through downtown and point out places and buildings where we’d gotten laid. I have a trump card now: Rain’s former building is on a site that had a previous apartment complex, which was razed to rebuild shiny new places on the same spot. I’ve now gotten lucky in two buildings on the same spot of real estate. Top that, Mizelle!

I haven’t been complaining of lack of adventure, but lunchtime hookups are going to be taking on quite the new twist in the coming days. It was SO convenient, having a getaway spot ten minutes from work. Absence makes the heart grow fonder; absence of a place to do it makes the part grow harder.

I hope you *don’t* see me around. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

