They’re Baaaack….

January 31, 2013 at 10:13 pm (The Easy Chair, Waxing Nostalgic)

Yes indeedy, Mother MacReady, the boys are back in town!

There was a bittersweetness in the air when I went to the final Cort and Fatboy show, recorded early in December. We love them, we squeeze them and call them George, we request Disturbed’s Down with the Sickness from the balcony much the way old farts yell “Freebird!” at a Steve Miller concert. They have been on my radio in one form or another for a couple of decades; most recently on the internet in the form of podcasts.

Confession: I didn’t have time to catch five podcasts a week. One or two, with a day or two in between? I like those numbers. I can do that. In fact, that may not be enough. Creating a demand is a good thing, boyyyyz…

And no more Fatboy? It’s about time. When Bobby “Fatboy” Roberts joined Cort on KUFO, and all I saw was his head shot, I envisioned Luciano Pavarotti. When I saw him running into the Columbia River on New Year’s Day many years ago, I felt he deserved better. Nobody who’s earned the name Fatboy would even consider being shirtless on TV. Fatboys have an image of belligerence, truculence. Anyone who has met Bobby Roberts knows he is about as far from those words as it gets.

So tomorrow, it begins again. Guess I’d better change a few links in the list over yonder… ===>

Oh, and I promise never to request “Down with the Sickness” from the balcony. Much like the name “Fatboy”, it’s time to retire that one.

It’s nice to have my buddies back on the radio. (In a manner of speaking, of course.) So…

Welcome to WELCOME TO THAT WHOLE THING.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

