Google Supports Illiteracy

March 25, 2013 at 10:57 am (The Easy Chair) (, )

Google Reader is going away. This is wrong! ANYTHING promoting reading should be kept alive. Want to borrow my iron lung?

Okay, that’s not such a big deal. I asked Art East, my go-to guy for sensible internet advice, and he pointed me to Feedly. It makes me wonder if Google owns this, and just wants its reader in a fancier package. I guess if I were that curious, I could Google it, huh?

I’m actually more bummed about this recent news: Jack Bogdanski’s blog is going on indefinite hiatus. While Jack threatens to return, and I hope he does, what am I going to do for readership?

See, this here little blog gets little or no pimping. It’s a labor of love for me. I don’t want to answer to advertisers, and the only editor I have to get past is my own common sense. In other words, MINE MINE MINE!

But, reassurance is nice. Mister Jack has featured a couple of my posts on his site. Both times were the highest number of hits for a single day. The current record is 697; a rant about “Marb” cigarettes. The previous record holder was a stroll down memory lane, featuring the downtown Park Blocks, Ma Anand Sheela and and the early ’80s.

My total views on this blog, as of this morning? 95,221. Yup, after almost six years, I’m approaching 100,000 hits. Jack probably gets that in a good afternoon. (Some folks have mojito recipes, I have topless barbers and Jack to bring in traffic.) If not for Jack’s site, I might drift off into obscurity.

I wish you well, Jack. I know change happens, and I try not to be one of those fussy old guys that hates any break in routine. But, with the loss of Bojack.org and Google Reader, the new version of coffee and newspaper will need something different to focus on.

And Jack, thanks for your quiet help with certain things over the years. ‘Nuff said?

I don’t know if what you’re spending a year writing will be something I’ll eventually want to read, but if it’s more blog and less tax code? I am there.

You’re still providing a community service. Your blog reminded me to pay my f***ing Arts Head-Tax this morning. Maybe later I’ll tag your URL on a downtown alley and they can spend the $35 removing my “art”!

All the best, Sir!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

