The Small Hours

April 8, 2007 at 4:14 am (Sweet sticky things)

For the last couple of years, I’ve been spending my weekends across town, at the the X-GF’s house. As you’ve heard, that changed a few weeks ago. For the most part, I’m OK , but every now and then something reminds me of something, and emotions kick in.

She lives in an area featured on several TV commercials, and often I’ll look up to see an ad for a car dealer a few blocks away, complete with map. Instead of the dealership saying “Here we are!”, to me it says “Hah! That’s where you used to sleep, bucko.”

At 4:30 AM, I would usually be awake, up puttering around, or just watching her sleep. It was a great time to sneak off to the basement to do laundry, or cruise Craigslist for humorous posts in the Rants and Raves. (RANT: You guys haven’t been funny in a very long time. Get some ideas, and get back to me.) Channel-surfing was a big pastime, and while I’m not a big midnight-snacker, a pint of Ben and Jerry’s was consumed on more than one occasion.

Now? I’m up in the middle of the night, back at my own humble abode. I’m out of ice cream, but not really in the mood for it anyway. I’ve discovered a great way to dodge those emotional-trigger commercials- Comedy Central. In the small hours they run infomercials for Girls Gone Wild. While the soundtrack quickly gets annoying, I can watch the repeated visuals for a very long time!

But, as fun as it’s been, I must find something else to watch, something else to do. I used to watch the GGW infomercials over there too.

Now the SleepCountry woman is on, which for some reason always reminds me of her.

Must everything remind me of her?

Leave a Reply

