Megadeth with a straight face?

April 19, 2007 at 1:14 am (Sweet sticky things)

Not in my lifetime!

I listen to the radio at work. There are three or four channels in regular rotation; mellow adult (KINK); alternative (KNRK); random pop (97.1 Charlie) and ear-slaughtering cookie monster/heavy metal (KUFO.) Tonight was a KUFO night.

I was chatting with a bus mall security guard while listening to Stump the Movie Douche. He was recently in a semi-serious car accident, and was telling me all about it. Midway through hearing about his wife’s head injury, I burst out laughing.

I immediately apologized, then figured I’d better explain why the laughter. After the radio game, KUFO played Megadeth’s Symphony of Destruction. I bought the album Countdown to Extinction when it came out in 1990. Played it to death. But something happened that forever marked that song.

For the last couple of years, I’ve been spending time with a couple of kids who have Guitar Hero, the Playstation/Nintendo/whatever game that uses a controller shaped like an electric guitar to play classic rock and other guitar-heavy tunes. (If you need a better description, Google it.) The boy, who is around thirteen, mastered it immediately, and is a level 12 riffmaster, or something to that effect. He plays the highest level, and routinely scores 100%.

The cool part is his little sister. She’s eight, and somewhat typical for her age. Everything pink, unicorns, you know, girly. After brother got ever so slightly bored with it, he graciously allowed her to try.

Lord, behold the transformation!

After acing Smoke on the Water, she conquered the Ramones’ I Wanna Be Sedated. Next? Pantera’s Cowboys From Hell. Suddenly pink dresses were out of fashion, and jeans with a black tee shirt became the new uniform. While playing ZZ Top’s Sharp Dressed Man, she even did the finger-wag.

At the game store, she will go to the Guitar Hero display, and watch the boys play. After a while, she’ll ask ever so politely, “May I try?” The boys, eager to laugh at someone new, oblige. After taking high score, she hands the guitar/controller back, thanks them, and leaves them slack-jawed.

One afternoon, however, things didn’t go so well. At home, in the living room, she’s having trouble with the new Wolfmother song. I request Motorhead’s Ace of Spades, and she scores 100%. Then, feeling nostalgic, I request Megadeth.

She winds up like Pete Townsend, fist in the air, and tears into Symphony of Destruction. She’s rolling along, hitting the notes, flipping her hair, putting on a show! I’m tapping my old-man foot, encouraging her. Then she comes to a bridge, and suddenly all hell breaks loose.

She misses a note. She  pushes on, but her concentration is derailed. In a move that can only be described as pure Chrissy Hynde, she yells “Goddammit!”, whips the strap of the controller over her shoulder, tosses the guitar at her brother, and screams, “I just can’t do this right now!” She’s off to her room in tears, in the best bit of diva meltdown I have personally witnessed.

Better watch your ass, Courtney Love. There’s a new rock and roll bad girl in town…

The downside? Every time I hear Symphony of Destruction, I see this moment and burst into a fit of loving laughter.

I’m quite sure this is not the response Dave Mustaine intended…

1 Comment

  1. cherylblog said,

    Very nice site. Maria

Leave a Reply

