The best tasting cigar ever?

May 13, 2007 at 6:37 pm (The Easy Chair)

I just finished watching the east coast feed of The Sopranos. (Only three episodes left…) I ain’t sayin’ nothing, but you don’t want to miss tonight’s episode.

I don’t use tobacco products any more. (Unless you count about one rolling paper per month, ahem.) I used to smoke cigarettes, and lived around those who smoked as well. My health deteriorated to the point where it was a choice between smoking or living, and I chose to stick around. Once in a great while, I get a craving for a cigarette, but it goes away before I act on it.

I won’t use chewing tobacco. (Thanks to allergies, I dribble enough icky fluids from my head without voluntarily adding to the mix.) And I like kissing. You never see goobers with a hockey puck in their lower lip suffering from excessive public displays of affection.

I never got cigars, either, until a trip to Texas some years back. I shared an elevator with a guy, and I commented on how his was the first cigar I’d encountered that didn’t smell like a burning turd. The brand was Romeo y Juliet, and they cost about $6. I bought one when I got back to Portland, but it didn’t taste nearly as good as the one in the elevator smelled.

Tonight, however, I had what may be the best tasting cigar ever. While loading up on charm-sticks at See’s Candies the other day, I saw what looked like a Romeo y Juliet sitting on the counter. For $1.95, I had to try.

Once past the foil wrapper, a solid chocolate protrusion awaits. It’s melt-in-your-mouth creamy, and reminds me of the outer layer of chocolate on a Snickers bar. And my room doesn’t smell like a burning shoe!

So, while it doesn’t look as manly as Tony firing up a tree branch, my chocolate cigar works just fine.

Leave a Reply

