Beavers vs ‘Eaters?

June 21, 2007 at 1:43 am (The Easy Chair)

Welcome to Penthouse Forum.

Just kidding. I am watching the late-night repeat of the OSU-UC Irvine game. I don’t know how it ends yet, but it’s 7-1 in the ninth inning. I’m cautiously optimistic.

I often watch the reruns on ESPN, especially during college football season. It’s still new if you don’t know how it ends, right? I do the same thing with local news. At least one channel repeats its 10 or 11 o’clock news. It’s a godsend for us late-nighters.

I have a feeling about this game. A rather happy-looking customer came in, smelling ever so slightly of foofy drinks and wearing a brilliant orange Oregon State Beavers tee shirt. I immediately blurted out, “Don’t tell me how it ends!”

“What?” she said slyly, after a second’s hesitation.

“The score! I want to watch the rerun.”

“Was there some sort of game tonight?”

I smirked, “You just happened to be wearing your Beaver tee shirt out to the club tonight…”

Her grin gave it away.

“Wanna play poker?”

She assured me it was a good game, though not as thrilling as the thirteen run marathons earlier in the playoffs. It was, if you are an OSU fan, that is.

Congratulations, our boys of summer.

Now back to our regularly scheduled programming. I can’t wait to see what kind of searches I get with this title…

Leave a Reply

