You’re as old as you feel

July 12, 2007 at 11:39 am (Waxing Nostalgic)

The Rolling Stone update tells me Christine McVie, formerly (?) of Fleetwood Mac, turns 64 today. Yikes!

I remember when I was twelve or thirteen, curled up on the couch in front of the television on a Friday night, watching Don Kirshner’s Rock concert, or maybe Midnight Special. I’d snuck a jug of my mom’s homemade rhubarb wine, and sipped it while watching Fleetwood Mac play. This was the era of Bob Welch, and the band was drifting away from blues and into more of a mystical/pop sound. Songs like Hypnotized, Bare Trees, Sentimental Lady. Rocked up versions of Oh Well. And a sexy song sung by a girl, called Over My Head. I was in love.

Now she’s 64. Time flies when you’re having fun. I hope it has treated her kindly of late.

There’s another birthday today My uncle turns 86. He’s the oldest member of the family, my mother’s little brother. He’s a Pearl Harbor survivor and former Union Pacific railroad conductor.

He has survived two wives. His daughter passed away recently. His friends are moving on to other worlds at a rapid pace. I gave him a call this morning, after not being able to reach him last night. He’s getting better with the cell phone, but he still hits a wrong button on occasion, so I try not to worry if I don’t reach him right away.

This morning, he answered promptly. “Well, hi there! I got your message, and meant to call, but I’m on the road. Have you met Donna?”

Donna? Apparently Uncle has a new girlfriend, and they are driving to Brigham City Utah. (With a destination like that, I’m not worried for his chastity.) She’s driving, and he’s relaxing. He bought a new Cadillac, and plans on driving it out to visit, so I can take it for a spin!

So, as my mid-40s come and go, I don’t feel so old. A bit of ibuprofen keeps the stiffness away, a shot or two of coffee works like a line of crystal used to, and, so far, everything still works ‘down there’. I’m feeling pretty spry today.

Thanks, Christine and Uncle, for making me feel young again.

And happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

