Moseyin’ With The Devil

August 14, 2007 at 1:24 am (Drunk and disorderly, Waxing Nostalgic)

Have you heard the word? Van Halen is coming to Portland! Woohoo!

I *said* VAN HALEN’S COMING! What are you, deaf?

Oops, sorry.

I’m not implying Van Halen fans are old. Hell, I was a fan. I saw them, uh, twenty-six years ago? I went with Freewheelin’ and we were among the oldest in line. (Barely legal. We had to kneel down to hit the bottle of MD 20/20.) The average concert-goer was fourteen and male. Oh, there were a few girls there. Not many women though.

The show was good. High energy, cool solos. I hated that they covered Roy Orbison’s Pretty Woman for the encore, (instead of Beautiful Girls) but hearing the songs from Fair Warning performed live made up for it. Michael Anthony playing bass with his teeth was cool.

But… Do we really need to see them now? They’ve started to go on tour more times than KISS has retired, yet they implode before the first show. And how much will they bring to the game? I went on about Blue Oyster Cult the other day. While their music sounds as good as ever, they look more like barbers than rock stars. No offense, guys.

I saw Diamond Dave on late night TV a while back, doing a country cover of Jump. I still cringe when I think of it. He sure was smiling a lot, and so energetic for an old guy! I’ll bet he still can’t feel his face.

And how much is this going to cost? A cursory look could find no prices. Sorry, Eddie, I’d rather pay my mortgage than yours…

Leave a Reply

