Another little piece of my heart

October 8, 2007 at 6:04 am (Sweet sticky things)

In the movie A Bronx Tale, mentor Sonny tells the kid, C, “Every guy has three great loves in his life.” He goes on to explain that “when it’s just you and her, alone under the covers, nothing else matters. Regardless of what your friends think, if she makes you happy, then that’s what is important.”

I’ve met at least two. They conquered my universe and made it better. They made me feel like the most important man in the world, and are still a big part of my life.

How do I know they are one of the magic three?

They have attained permanent residence in my heart. Full-time occupancy. We may no longer be an official couple, but the love is still there. It doesn’t go away. Though the years pass by, when I think of them I still get warm and fuzzy inside.

Couldn’t I just expel them from my heart? Sounds great in theory, and I tried before realizing how futile it was. I loved them, the kind that lasts, and even if I could let go of it, I’m not sure I’d want to.

One of those lovely young ladies turns another year older today, and I wish her a happy birthday. Circumstances are keeping us apart, but she will be on my mind all day.

And while there’s still a lot of open space in my heart, there are a couple of areas that are off-limits. No tumbleweeds blowing across the yard, no ‘Vacancy’ signs. Just an emotional condo, where they will stay, rent free, until they are little old ladies.

While one of them inches a little closer to little old lady status today, she is still feisty, pretty, and probably wishing she could throw something at me for all the little old lady references. To which I can only say ‘Sorry!’ with mock sincerity.

Happy birthday, you. <[;>)-

1 Comment

  1. Betsy said,

    How can I throw something at *you* when *I* repeatedly call myself ‘old and decrepit’?

    (How repeatedly? A Google search on ‘betsy old and decrepit’ reveals scary, scary things…)

    Thank you for the good wishes, sir.

Leave a Reply

