Too sappy even for Oprah…

April 15, 2008 at 12:25 pm (Sweet sticky things)

I woke to an interesting earworm this morning; the Violent Femmes’ Blister in the Sun. No idea where this came from. It certainly isn’t the weather.

The gloom outside has been matching the inside lately. I’ve been dealing with love issues, which are much more fun in the beginning than at the end. Despite ongoing denial, I have to accept that things come to an end, and I must learn to move on.

Another song has been bouncing around in my brain. It’s old, and not my musical style, so I had to Google to find it. Much to my relief, it was done by the Carpenters. (I thought it was Air Supply…)

The hardest thing I’ve ever done
Is keep believing
There’s someone in this crazy world
For me.

The way that people come and go
Thru temporary lives.
My chance could come
And I might never know.

I used to say no promises,
Lets keep it simple
But freedom only helps you say

Good-bye…

It took a while for me to learn
That nothin’ comes for free
The price I’ve paid is high enough for me

I know I need to be in love.

I know I’ve wasted too much time.

I know I ask perfection of
A quite imperfect world.
And fool enough to think thats
What I’ll find.

So here I am with pockets full
Of good intentions.
But none of them
will comfort me tonight.

I’m wide awake at four a.m.
Without a friend in sight.
Hanging on a hope but I’m alright…

Yes, love is grand. I still have lots of love around me, but it’s not the boy/girl love I got so used to. A feeling that stayed with me throughout the day, and could be refreshed with a brief e-mail or phone call. I miss holding hands at the movies, the stinky-breathed kisses in the morning, the feel-it-in-your-toes hugs when life gets you down. I sure could use one of those right now.

Life goes on, and will get better. Every time a relationship ends, I wonder if it was all worth it, because the end hurts so damn bad. I wonder if I could have done something different, and though I’ve been reassured endlessly that this isn’t the case, I still wonder.

Stuart Smalley to the rescue: “I’m Good Enough, I’m Smart Enough, and Doggone It, People Like Me!”

So with that daily affirmation, I will head out into the world. I will start acting a little more interested when women at work talk to me. I will survive!

Jeezus…

And now back to The Lifetime Channel…

1 Comment

  1. Chantel said,

    Yes, this is too mushy for Oprah. I feel yah my friend, I know exactly what your talking about.

Leave a Reply

