This Painted Smile

April 6, 2011 at 12:02 pm (The Easy Chair, Waxing Nostalgic)

Clown week continues…

There’s a theme forming here of late. I’m sure it will pass, or at least recede, but until then I’m rolling with it. Got my baggy pants, size 13-4E shoes and shocking red hair. The nose ain’t red, but a bottle of gin could fix that right up. Nah, I’ll compensate with red eyes.

I mentioned to Sis about all this clown business, and she said, “Funny, we were just talking about John Wayne Gacy at work this morning.” The clown prince of scary clowns. Wish I’d thought to ask in what context he came up.

Dr T texted me at 1 AM; he’s reading and passing along the autobiography of Bozo the Clown. Looks like a fun read.

Perhaps, now that Meg has a DVD player, I will drop by with my bootleg copy of Shakes The Clown. I’ll bring her a couple beers and count it as an AA meeting.

As I moped around last week, I recalled a song from the one time I saw the Moody Blues in concert. The Moody Blues were an early favorite; one of the first two albums I bought at age twelve was Every Good Boy Deserves Favour. In the late ’80s they came to town, and I was my cousin’s date to the show. It wasn’t one of those tuxedo-and-symphony shows. The Fixx was the opening band, and it was one of the few times I was on the floor at the Coliseum. The band played for two hours, dressed informally. Nights in White Satin was a bluesy affair, played much too fast for purists. They were touring behind The Other Side of Life, and IMHO this was the perfect time to see them, before the ‘classic rock/fossil rock’ label applied. They had dancing girl/backup singers who had trouble keeping their boobs inside their dresses, and the affair as a whole was up-tempo and kicked ass.

During the set they played a song I’d not heard before, so I bought Long Distance Voyager. The song became a bit of trademark of the time for me. And now, I share it with you.

And now, I must paint on a smile and go play with you, keep you smiling. It’s a job I love, but some days my heart is in it more than others. Tonight I have an apprentice. Will I show him all my tricks? Never. But I will teach him to paint on a smile for you…

1 Comment

  1. Jeff said,

    How did I miss this Great Flick? and I work in the business!!
    I now have a search out to buy this film, as that is my quest for the week.
    Shakes and Binkey you made my day!
    Keep up your great blog, as I have been reading with great joy for a few years now.
    P.S Keep us updated with the antics of Uncle Cliffy, as every job has one!

Leave a Reply

