A Moment of Clarity

December 9, 2011 at 8:25 am (Sweet sticky things, That's not funny...)

There’s no fool like an old fool. Those who don’t pay attention to history are doomed to repeat it. Insanity is doing the same thing over and over, expecting a different result.

Yeah, I’ve heard it all before. I’ve said it all to myself before. I’ve said it to myself when I *knew* my actions would not end the way I wanted. Yet, the eternal optimist, I tried again anyway. To butcher a line from The Departed, “I’m Irish, I’ll tolerate an intolerable situation forever.”

I’m also Danish and Norwegian. We’re stubborn and practical. It was my Scandinavian heritage that took this round. With all due respect to my Irish heritage, the brain had to win over the heart and the dick.

At least this time.

This time, instead of being heartbroken and running for a liquor store, I felt a warm glow of pure hatred, followed by a cold flush. That moment when you *know* the relationship has died in your heart. I felt the weight ascend from my shoulders. I caught a reflection in the bus window: My, what a sinister grin you have! I’m going to be okay.

It’s not the first time we’ve been through this. It may be the last. My heart has run out of room for squatters. The parks are closed, and you can’t use the bathroom. Time to move on.

The sun is shining. It’s cold. It’s going to be a glorious day.

Leave a Reply

