Resolution, Rebirth, etc…

December 11, 2011 at 11:11 am (The Easy Chair)

I spent Saturday night at home with the family. It was nice.

Most folks do the New Year’s resolution thingy after a month of gluttonous debauchery. I’m cutting to the chase this year.

I’m not making any loud proclamations that will come back to haunt me if I fail. I choose not to share these plans, other than to say they exist. Will you notice anything about my behavior? Probably not. I hope not. It’s my goal to be a better human being, and hopefully I am doing that already. This is more of a fine tuning, so I feel better about myself on the inside.

The past few months have been a lot of fun. I was able to do things I’d wanted to do forever. I will not revel in the glory of accomplishments, but I will hold them dear to my heart and think of them when I’m down. I’ve spent time with people far from my usual social circle, with enlightening results. I’ve been with women I’m not worthy of, and too good for. (Middle ground, please?) I will love them in their own way, for far different reasons.

But… I have to be true to my school. My brain and heart are what I have to answer to. I usually come up with good answers. This time I’m going to think hard about the questions before I ask them.

May the year 2012 be a bit less bipolar for us all…

Leave a Reply

