Recovery Road

March 4, 2013 at 11:20 am (My Soreballs Vacation)

We’re almost there.

Since the beginning of December, I have been dealing with intestinal issues. Specifically an inguinal hernia, its side-effects and the operation to cure said hernia. The path to normal function is opening up, and I can see the highway from here.

In hindsight, I *could* have gone back to work three days after surgery. (And would have, had the state not been so kind as to pay for my down time.) Instead, I got a bit of quiet time. How quiet? I made it work for me.

Physically, I am feeling okay. I get a bit of soreness once in a while. The bruising has gone away. Rain told me a cute story: When visiting the homeless shelter, there are a bunch of old gals she calls the Golden Girls. They were snickering about something, so Rain pulled out her phone and showed them my picture. Then she told them about my operation, then told them about my spectacular bruising. “Yepper, he was an honorary brother for a couple weeks!”

Romantically, I am back in the saddle again. Things are working well, in fact I think I had a growth spurt. Once I knew for sure things would work, ahem, I couldn’t wait to try it out. Rain, adventurous as she may be, kept me at bay for a few days. (Her wanting me to spill my guts usually involves how much money I have on me, not a splattery gorefest following rambunctious sex.) We started slow and easy…

I have another doctor’s appointment, just a feel-good checkup to make sure I’m not missing anything, that it’s all where it should be, etc… I am ready to be done with this. I am ready to start flinging myself around with abandon. I want to pick up girls. Literally. Throw them onto the bed and pants them and, well, you get my drift. I am tired of behaving like an old man. I have wild oats to sow!

I’ll get on that, right after work…

Leave a Reply

