Blackout Love

November 15, 2014 at 11:38 am (Sweet sticky things)

I roll in after midnight, usually closer to 1 AM. Come home, watch a rerun of the 11 o’clock news, eat something, and crash. Repeat 4-5 times a week.

Then I got a girlfriend.

I work a lot, pay a lot for cable/internet, and feel as though it should be used, so I encourage Rain to play with the cable all she wants. (Pay-per-view is password protected, so I don’t have to worry.) She has all her daytime shows, BET, and she’s a crime/murder mystery fan, so the Discovery ID channel is on when the others aren’t. Not much of it bugs me, and I have internet to keep me amused if I’m not interested.

Night before last, she was knee-deep in some program. I had plans! (See previous post about AHS: Freakshow and Boardwalk Empire.) But I know to choose my battles, and there was half a Dutch-apple pie hidden in the bottom of the fridge, so I let her watch her show. Mine will be there later.

Baby, it's cold outside...

Baby, it’s cold outside…

Just as I put the empty tin away and returned to my room, POP! ALL the power went out in the neighborhood. Which means… No lights, TV, computer, radio. Oh, I have a handful of keychain flashlights, and we poked around like miners for a few minutes, then decided to give up and sleep it off.

A funny thing happened as we laid there. (No, not that, though it would probably look funny to young people…) It was like we were twelve again, and on a sleepover, or at summer camp. Normally one of us passes out and the other crawls into bed whenever. We had to lay there and pillow-talk like a regular couple. I loved it; Rain probably would have had more fun if she could have seen the end of her show and had fifteen minutes prep time.

About 7 AM, the lights came back on. I’d shut a lot of things off, but the TV wasn’t one of them. Fucking Pat Robertson was on the channel the TV was on. I’m not particularly superstitious, but when his is the first face I see in the morning? I pray for a black cat. I switched to the news, (“It’s cold outside! Power outage!”) and clicked back off. That isn’t news.

I’ve had two days of relative sloth, now it’s time to make the doughnuts. I will gently nudge Rain as I depart, leaving BET kinda loud on the TV. She’ll be up by nightfall that way, and hopefully watch all her shows before I get home.

Because if the power goes out again, I’ve thought of a couple things to pass the time…

Leave a Reply

