A Million Ways to Get Over It

February 1, 2015 at 5:36 am (Sweet sticky things, That's not funny...)

Daisy

I get comfort from the damnedest places.

I’ve been living alone for a couple months, maybe three. I’ve asked Rain repeatedly to come get her stuff, while trying to resolve mixed feelings. I want her, and want it to be like it was when it was good. Realistically, that isn’t going to happen, or it would have by now. I’ve given her deadlines, which have come and gone, so today I took a little more of my freedom back.

I moved some of her stuff into the driveway.

It was like any other arrangement. We make a plan, and she ignores it. She got busy. She fell asleep. I’ve learned to move on with my day, and not let her disrupt me too much. It still pisses me off. The one thing she can do which irritates me to apoplexy? Waste my time. I will forgive just about anything, and I don’t care if she borrows money and doesn’t pay it back. I can make more money. But I can’t make more time. And I’m tired of being a storage dump. I’ve had a suitcase on my bed for three months. I have a three-day weekend.

It was time to clean house.

When she hadn’t arrived at 8 AM as planned, I went back to sleep until after noon. I called, acted like I was impatient. Strung along. Repeat in two hours. When she told me she had gotten busy, I did too. I grabbed nephew, and we moved her two big suitcases into the driveway. They are double-wrapped in black trashbags, so the weather won’t be too much of an issue. I hope this isn’t garbage week, but oh well if it is.

I swept up, made my bed. Fell asleep, awoke at 3 AM. Still no messages. Again, oh well.

Nothing on TV, so I went to the pile of liberry blu-rays I keep meaning to watch. A Million Ways to Die in the West. I watched Blazing Saddles a while back. I’m ready for the new millennium version.

I’ve loved 90% of Family Guy, and hoped the squirm factor would be nil in this movie. Family Guy violence pushes my buttons more than Troma films. Ooh, Charlize Theron AND Sarah Silverman? These are added bonuses. Such lovely actresses.

As I watched the clumsy Albert chase his old girlfriend with the help of a lovely wingman, (Charlize) I couldn’t help but think of Mizelle, and how she has been there for me (and vice versa) when domestic turmoil hath arisen. The parallels of Albert’s bemoaning a woman interested only in herself, realizing he IS worth more than he thinks he is, and taking steps to “work on himself” were like a bull-horn to the testicles. The last movie that felt this therapeutic was Shakes the Clown. And the surprise cameo, visiting from my favorite movie ever, was the cherry on top. And (spoiler alert) I’m not referring to Christopher Lloyd as Doc Brown. It was also pleasing to see occasional Portland resident Matt Clark in a small part as a prospector. I wish he’d come into my store.

I laughed out loud several times during this movie, something I hadn’t done in a long time.

Thank you, Seth MacFarlane. I needed that.

Leave a Reply

