Grateful Not Dead

November 25, 2016 at 5:49 am (Sweet sticky things, Waxing Nostalgic)

Halloween c-word2016 has been one hell of a rough year, and it’s not over yet. Mrs Brady died last night. Damn. (Florence Henderson, not my Mrs Brady. She works at the weed store across from Rain’s.) I have lost friends, and mortal luminaries from the music and video world have gone to the great beyond.

So far, death has missed my immediate friends and family. Praise cheeses!

I am thankful, so thankful, for that. And a few other things.

I am not religious, not even sure how I feel about God. I believe we are meant to figure out as much as possible on our own, as God would be kinda busy, what with the middle East, Trump, etc… I have never been much for “figuring things out.” (I would get Freewheelin’ to tell me how stuff worked and take it from there.) So God, if you’re up there? Thank you, thank you very much. (Not just “so much.” “Very much.”) I try not to bug you, and when I do it’s usually to say thank you, or for help for a loved one. I don’t feel it’s my place to ask you for help for me. But I have, and I will do so again. Prayer can be powerful. Again, thank you.

I am grateful for my job. It’s a means to an end, sure. I won’t gain eternal riches or fame, but I have fun almost every night at work. Not a lot of people can say that. I get burnt out, but after a couple days off I start missing my cussed-dumbers. And my goofy co-workers.

Thank you Rain, for being my buddy. You surprise me continually, and get more beautiful every day. Keep on keepin’ on, babe.

I’m grateful for Rain’s friend Salty, who is like a big brother to her, and me. He had to “go away to college” for awhile, but he’ll be back. And in the meantime, I can use his Bluetooth speaker!

I am thankful for my friends. I run alone most of the time, but a few have made it to my inner circle. You know who you are.

This has been a hard year for my Sister. Surviving cancer, changing jobs (two of them) that she’s had for over twenty years. Losing Sandy the dog was maybe the biggest hit. She’s doing better, and we have been spending a lot of quality time. Bus rides used for quiet reflection also work well for “how was your day” chats with loved ones. I’m notorious for being a skinflint when it comes to time. Decompressing with your best friend is time well spent.

And thank YOU, DbG! My diary, confessional, steam release. Banging on the keyboard like a chimpanzee until the words come out. Big hugs to Art East and Uncle Jeff, who read, comment and support. I’ll keep doing it as long as you keep reading it!

And now, I am off to work until midnight at the Nightclub Store. I may not be so thankful as I wait for Giggles’ late ass, but I will take a deep breath and forge on.

Shiny donkeys, everybody!

1 Comment

  1. ArtEast said,

    Always a good read on the DBG, & still think some of your posts are worthy for the likes of Rolling Stone Magazine, or even an Op-Ed piece like this one from the L.A. Times…

    http://www.latimes.com/opinion/op-ed/la-oe-bry-legal-pot-is-boring-20161127-story.html

    Keep on clickity-clackin’ ya Beastard! šŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

