In Like a Lamb, Out Like a Lion

March 29, 2008 at 3:16 pm (The Easy Chair)

Isn’t it supposed to be the other way around?

With two days to go in March, it’s snowing outside. Correction, it’s hailing now. As the saying goes, if you don’t like the weather in Oregon, just wait fifteen minutes. Snow, rain, hail and sunshine have all made an appearance since I got up today. I left the house with standard spring accessories; umbrella and sunglasses.

I’ve made three trips by bus today. Downtown, over to northeast, back to downtown. Home. Back to Southeast. Home again. I’ve heard thunder, and walked into the house as the rain started again. I’ve been missing the icky stuff by mere seconds.

Watching the Cubs and Mariners play baseball, it feels more like the playoffs than spring training. Yesterday I went to Clairissa’s for a haircut, wanting to look sharp for Saturday night mischief, and the sun was in my eyes most of the way home. When I went back this morning to drop some stuff off to her, I got hailed on.

With the smell of fresh-mown lawn in the air, I had a case of baseball fever that wouldn’t quit. I plunked on my Portland Beavers hat and had homemade sausage dogs during the game. Exxx-cellent! It was kinda weird hearing the Cubs broadcasters announcing the Mariners. Took me a minute: What’s wrong with this picture?…

Today the Mariners are the home team broadcasting, but since Steve Stone and the Careys have moved on, I have a hard time telling (or caring) who is calling the Cubs’ games. HO-LEE COW, I wish Harry were still around.

The weather has gone nasty again, and staying in seems to be the plan. I still have to hitch a ride to the store for dinner, but there’s no rush. Saturday plans have been (appropriately enough) rainchecked, so after foraging for grub (and a pint of B&J New York Superchunk Fudge) it’s looking like hibernation time.

Which is neither lion or lamb-like. Bear with me…

1 Comment

  1. Susan said,

    wat the hell i don get this

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.